261. Large

Happy Christmas Eve Everyone!  🙂   I got a early Christmas present today.  I had a new (and rather large) visitor at my feeder this afternoon….a hawk!  I was just sitting at my kitchen table watching the pretty purple finches and all of a sudden I heard quite the chatter and all the little birds flew away and I then saw these huge wings fly down to the deck.  At first I thought it was an owl, but then when I seen it I was in shock (I have never had a hawk on my deck).  I grabbed my camera as quick as I could and got 4 shots in before he took off…of course, he had to land behind the corn, but I guess I couldn’t be choosy!  I thought hawks only ate small animals….I was amazed to see him pecking at my corn.

As I checked him out, he checked me out too….we had a small stare down going (or he was thinking my camera was food lol)

~ by Tammy on December 24, 2010.

24 Responses to “261. Large”

  1. Oh Tammy what a fantastic Christmas Present you got, for feeding all those little birds, However I would like to remind you that Purple Finches ARE Small Animaks (and he looks hungry) I think his reflection in your lens is what he was looking at Not You (Your a Little Large)
    These are your BEST BEST BEST Photos ever.

    • Pure, pure Christmas luck! 🙂 I kinda maybe thought those purple finches might have attracted him down to the deck, but I was still surprised about him pecking at the corn.

  2. Oh WOW! Great shot!!! It was nice of him to hang around while you got your camera. 😀

  3. Tammy that is amazing! How lucky to be in the right place at the right time! Great capture! And Merry Christmas my friend!

  4. WOW! Jon is looking over my shoulder and is sending happy but jealous bird-photographer vibes your way over these amazing shots!!

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!! Thanks for all your thoughtful comments this year!!

  5. Wow, some bird to have at the bird table! And a very Merry Christmas to you, and the bird 🙂 we have managed to avoid the downpoor up in Queensland and are now back in dry Sydney and +37 degrees. I’m finally beginning to catch up on the time zones, the first couple of days I was so jetlagged I almost felt sick. We did not get any time to adjust before we headed out in the hire car due to the delays from home.
    I hope you have a lovely Christmas and New Year.

  6. Sometimes it is really great to have a camera and be able to catch those rare and unexpected moments on picture. I just love it when things like this happens, good luck that you could get in on picture and show us as well!

  7. What a stunning bird! Gotta love those ‘cross eyes’, who blinked first?

  8. Awesome, Tammy! That second shot especially is a definite winner. I do hope that you will hang it on your wall. . I’m tempted to try & move my feeder closer to my kitchen, but then it would almost be in the street! Merry Christmas!

  9. Merry Christmas Tammy….wow that second shot is outstanding! I love it the way it is but you should try the plug-in Fractalius on this one. I messed around with it many moons ago and the second I saw your shot I thought it would be great for this.
    That certainly is a great surprise in your backyard and nice to have your camera ready!

  10. Simply stunning..had to call my photographer hubby over for a look..he was very impressed!

  11. OK–I’m looking at the top photo as it comes up and thinking, “Wow! She is just such an incredible woldlife phtographer. That photo is all about nobility.” And the the second one came up…and I had nothing at all to say. How on earth did you get that one? That is just utter ferocity, the whole distilled essence of Hawk.

  12. What great photos!! I have tried several times to capture photos of hawks at my bird feeders but never with your success. Beautiful shots!

  13. Excellent stare down shot Tammy.

  14. Absolutely fabulous!! You should be a National Geographic photographer!!

  15. Tammy – These are truly amazing shots!!
    I hope you had a wonderful holiday.

  16. Tammy! These are amazing! I’d say the best bird shots I’ve seen in the Photowalk. You must be so happy!

  17. Wow Tammy! Good for you keeping your cool to get the shots.

  18. I would be beside myself with joy if this beautiful creature dropped in on my feeder. You must have been so surprised OMG. You did an excellent job of capturing him well, especially considering the circumstances. Isn’t he just so handsome.

  19. He’s GORGEOUS!!!

  20. Remarkable captures, Tammy. Sure beats a fat guy in a red suit coming down your chimney.

  21. Not much I can add to all of the above but to repeat that you have such a fine talent for wild tnd wishing to be wild creatures.

  22. Great capture! Looks like he is ready to join you for dinner!

  23. Great shot!

Leave a Reply

 
