231. The Watcher (The Creative Exchange Wk 7)

I am always intrigued by my niece’s bright blue eyes so I thought I would play with them this week.  The look I got was not what I intended, but I kinda liked the end result….a little quirky but definitely something totally different than what I like to do.  I started by turning the picture into a sketch and then I erased the sketch effect off of her eyes.  I then added a color variation and blended in a texture.  To finish up,  I did some burning to bring out some of the colors in the texture.  It kinda looks like someone looking through a stone mask.

And here is the original image:

I am linking this link to The Creative Exchange over at Lisa’s blog, The White Cotton Tee

~ by Tammy on November 9, 2010.

18 Responses to “231. The Watcher (The Creative Exchange Wk 7)”

  1. It does! wow what a great texture, so interesting and creative.

  2. The color you were able to bring out in her eyes is just fantastic. It’s a gorgeous, but very believable blue. I also love the texture you used.

    Thank you so much for sharing this today at The Creative Exchange!

    Have a great evening.

    lisa.

  3. Great! It looks like a drawing. Well done Tammy

  4. Ggreat! When I first saw the texture in the skin I thought it painterly, but was glad that the eyes were left natural. Then I saw the original and am super impressed. Also I love that you too can admit it wasn’t what you were trying for, but we both love the end result.

  5. Very cool. It does look like a painting. Thanks for walking us through your creative process.

  6. It looks like a drawing now. Very interesting.

  7. Love what you did! Would love to learn how to do things like that. She has wonderful eyes!!

  8. Great job. Texture filters are so much fun. Endless possibilities.

  9. Very cool! You are so creative!!

  10. Way to play! Helps to start with a compelling image.

  11. Very nicely done!

  12. You are so creative!! It looks just like a drawing!

  13. Hi Tammy,
    This is awesome! He has very expressive eyes. Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  14. It doesn’t look like stone to me…it looks like a drawing that focuses on the eyes and allows them their own expression, one of a challenging interest.

  15. Pretty impressive Tammy… leaving her eyes natural was brilliant, it really makes the image. Well done!

  16. Well done. I love the treatment of the eyes!

  17. First, I am impressed that you are able to capture eyes that are so crisp and clean. I think the creative experiment is interesting… but certainly the original is why the drawing works so well.

  18. well done, Tammy…but I dont know to apreciate.
    I prefer the second one

Leave a Reply

 
