144. Depth of Field

In Grand Lake, CO,  we hiked to this lake and  also hiked around the whole lake (which went through Arpaho National Forest – which is really beautiful)!    I took this picture at F11, 1/320, ISO 200)  …. I really loved the textures in the water and how it softly flowed back to the mountatins in the clouds.   I thought the distant mountains also really enhanced the depth of field nicely.

~ by Tammy on August 7, 2010.

21 Responses to “144. Depth of Field”

  1. Look who’s been taking Boomer Lessons, and passing with flying colours.

  2. A thing of beauty indeed. That had to be one spectacular hike you had. WoW!!

  3. a great coposition with depth.
    from the small soft wawes in front to the mighty rocks in the back
    seemes there were some great wiews up there and you sure know how to show them 🙂

  4. OMG! So beautiful. I love how you can see the edge of the lake to the distant mountains. A gorgeous image.

  5. There is so much depth to this image. It is breathtaking!!

  6. Stunning! You got some great DOF. I like the way the water has a slight curve to it, leading into the maintains.

  7. Wonderful DOF – I love the layers of mountains in the background. Beautiful!!

  8. Hi Tammy,
    This is an awesome picture. I’ll bet seeing it in person was breath taking. Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  9. Oh my!!! This is exquisite!

  10. It is a gorgeous flower, it looks like the middle of a poppy. Beautiful shot.
    Thanks for the visit.

  11. Those hazy mountains in the distance are beautiful – this photo really draws me in.

  12. a beautiful shot!

  13. Gorgeous flower heart!

  14. The dof really draws you in to this breathtakingly beautiful scene, I hope this gets printed very large.

  15. Stunning depth of field in this one, Tammy! Thanks for sharing your settings. Love the rippled water and the clouds.

  16. Very nice! I bet it was wonderful hiking around there! I think I would never want to leave! 🙂

  17. Stunning! Your use of the beach in the foreground is just perfect. Now, just how long did it take to hike around that lake – 3 days?

    • LOL,no, we took our time so I could take pictures and the boys could dink in the water, so about 2 hours (4 MI hike).

  18. The variety of textures certainly addd to the “eye interest.”

  19. I’ve enjoyed seeing your vacation shots. I’m glad you decided not to go to D.C. so I could see something different! 😉

  20. just reading about your hiking exhausts me LOL 🙂
    It sounds and looks like you all had a wonderful trip.

Leave a Reply

 
