140. Mixed

I love seeing the variations of the mixed landscapes from the summit in Rocky Mountain National Park.

~ by Tammy on August 3, 2010.

13 Responses to “140. Mixed”

  1. I like the way you captured this in portrait format to show us the changes from bottom to top, and the deep ravine really helps give focus to the whole picture. Couldn’t you just look at those mountains for hours?

  2. Excuse my stupidity but is that snow? BTW it’s beautiful.

  3. Tell Boomer it is sand, but at low tide in the Rockies it is hard to see the sea, He’ll believe he just came back from the Vegas beach where the tide was out too! Great Vista and textures, but I’m with Judi it does look like you are peering up the mountain!

    • You are too funny! I did take the picture from the lower side of the summit…had to do some walking to get there and wow was I out of breath!

  4. My fave kind of vista!!

  5. A great mix of zones at that altitude, a beautiful view!

  6. It’s a wonderful landscape, one that I’d like to see some day. Glad you’re sharing your shots with us…

  7. Beautiful shot! I love the way you captured the way the mountains converge towards the middle and the clouds really add to that effect. Almost like you could be swallowed up. BTW, what was the elevation?

    • 11,796 ft….what a view! It was cold though…52 degrees and windy! Should have brought a coat (and I know better) LOL

      • That is high! But you can’t get that view anywhere else. I thought Quito was high. That was over 9,000 ft. It was a big change for someone like me who has spent their entire life at sea level. Sounds like it was a good compromise for the family. Maybe next year you draw straws or something.

  8. I am so jealous. The RMNP is such a wonderful area with so much to look at.

  9. this is why I like the mountains up in north Sweden in summer, you se the landscape with all its caracters. In winter all is just white. I like your composition with the snow at the back

Leave a Reply

 
