130. Movement

This evening we had terrible storms and tons of rain once again….around sunset the rain quit and a huge rainbow shot against the sunset.  As I was taking the picture lightning moved across the sky….I didn’t even know I had captured the lightning, but what a pleasant surprise!

Canon XSI, 18-55 Kit Lens, Focal Length:  43mm, Shot in Manual, Aperature:  F5.6, Speed:  1/30,  ISO:  400      EDITING:  A simple levels adjustment and ran through Topaz Denoise

~ by Tammy on July 14, 2010.

23 Responses to “130. Movement”

  1. WOW! This is so cool!! Love the orange color, too. When we were in Georgia, Jon sat out on the porch of our cabin for a couple of hours trying to capture lightning and got diddly…just some glow. How’d you get both the lightning and that groovy rainbow??

    • I was shooting the rainbow and sunset and the lightning was pure luck…when I try to shoot lightning it never turns out…go figure!

  2. very nice shot…i did not get nothing like that
    congrats

  3. I hate your LUCK but Love your photo, I have so wanyed to capture lighning (Without being zapped if possible) I am So Jealous Witch!

  4. Incredible! I’ve never seen horizontal lightening.

  5. Amazing!

    Hey, no fair! You stripped your exif data so I can’t see what shutter speed you used. Care to share that detail?

    • Hey Julie, I don’t know how I stripped the EXIF data…I keep seeing you guys talk about that, but not sure how you are seeing it. Anyhow, I did add the info under the picture. Thanks for the nice comment! 🙂

  6. great capture!

  7. Wow what a catch to get both in one shot!

  8. This is a stunning image! Gorgeous colors of the sky!

  9. Awesom shot with both rainbow & lightning!

  10. As I said on Facebook–this is one of the most AMAZING photos I’ve ever seen!

  11. Wow, that is so cool! (& a good shot, also). Simply wild how you have an orange sky, too. Must be payback for having to put up with so many storms.

  12. Wow, what a shot with both lightening and a rainbow! Incredible!

  13. This is so wonderful, Tammy. It is definitely a prize winner. Great eye for a great shot.

  14. Don’t you just love such great surprises!! Great shot.

  15. Tammy this is amazing! WOW is all I can say. How lucky you are. For the rest of us can just keep trying.

  16. WOW. this should be in a magazine. Beautiful combination.
    thanks for visiting me today so I could come and see this.

  17. Fantastic!!!

  18. What a great surprise! LOVE this capture!

  19. Wow! What a great capture! So dramatic!

  20. Wow is right! Wonderful colors, too! Super, Tammy. Stay safe!

  21. I fully expect to see you choose this photo as your best for July. Even if you hadn’t the luck of getting the lightening in the shot, the light was already fabulous. The lightening fills in the rainbow space and just gives that extra nudge to put the photo over the top.

Leave a Reply

 
