116. Seaside

This pelican is enjoying his time at his algae covered seaside….hey, no complaining about my stretch in theme, where do I find a seaside in Nebraska??

~ by Tammy on June 24, 2010.

22 Responses to “116. Seaside”

  1. Love Pelicans.

  2. That’s a lot of Algae! I think the theme sea side is asking to be stretched! Or, to dig through archives. I think you’ve done marvelously well here… a great pelican pic.

  3. I guess Julie is busy conferring with the International Committee for Adherence to Themes on your case as she hasn’t swooped yet! All you had to do was add the word Denizen, and you would have been covered, LOL Just out of interest and combining comments on flooding, Floods in North Queensland have finally found their way into Central Australia (Lake Eyre) and the place is in currently filling up with Pelicans and other sundry seabirds, there for mating and feeding. Please ask your mate there, how they know that an area which is generally a Salt Pan is now filled with water and teeming with fish and other food?

  4. What a great shot, Tammy. They are such amazing birds. I resigned from the ICFATT last year, but my ruling would have been that those who are smack dab in the middle of a large continent are absolved from strict adherence to the seaside theme. πŸ˜‰

    • I feel much better, Julie, thanks for your approval…LOL These seaside and beach themes are definitely not Nebraska friendly LOL

  5. ItΒ΄s a nice stretch though so I dont mind it πŸ˜€

  6. That is a stunning shot!! Hey-you have to make do, right? Unless hubby takes you to the coast So you can fulfill your theme. :).

  7. very cool shot…love how close it seems to be to your camera. Makes me feel like he’s right in front of me too.

  8. By being in your backyard, this lovely bird has escaped being coated in oil…a good trade off, I think.

    • Isn’t that the truth…I wish all the sea life could come to Omaha! That whole situation makes me sick!

  9. Gorgeous shot. I love the detail of the wispy feathers on the edges.

  10. Hi Tammy,
    Yea, I hear you, it’s hard to find a seaside or beach in Indiana. Well, where I live anyway. Love this pelican. He’s cute. Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  11. excellent shot, Tammie…congrats

  12. Great shot!! I guess he came to eat out of the awesome bird feeder that your dad made!!

  13. A beautiful picture. Love the details in his feathers.

  14. What a fabulous shot and lucky bird I guess to be inland. I remember you had pelicans last year too, are they passing by or what

    • Usually the pelicans are gone by now…maybe they are avoiding the oil?? We usually get them Spring and fall time, but a few of them have just been staying…kinda cool, huh?

  15. Good point about the theme (and I live in Connecticut, which has at least a pseudo-seashore.) You’ve played up the crisp eye and the colorful beak so well.

  16. He’s gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

 
