54. Packaging

Went to the gardens again (another addiction) to see their changed Spring display…..I fell in love with this packaged beauty who was dying to get out.

Camera: Canon XSI, Shot in Manual mode, Lens:  55-250mm, Focal Length:  250mm, Aperture F/5.6,  Shutter Speed 1/40, ISO 400      Processed in PSE8, adj levels and saturation, and cropped the image

Thanks Iona for the suggestions…Is this better??

~ by Tammy on March 11, 2010.

19 Responses to “54. Packaging”

  1. Felt a tad bit disappointed that you included a hunk of stem, but sorta let me feeling more negative space should have been included at the top of the photo to give it better balance. Nice shot, however. Lovely light and colors. Nice bokeh.

  2. Just to confuse things I like the top one better, as in the bottom one it seems that you have copped the bulb off before it has finished it’s job of blooming, these do have stems after all.

  3. Hmmm…i like the darker background on the lower image, but I think I like seeing a little bit of stem on the top one. Can’t please everyone, eh??

  4. I’m with Iona on this one…love the second image…but then again…the closer the better for me right?

  5. I was on the fence, then lost my balance and fell towards the first one. Prefer to see the whole image.

  6. Hi Tammy,
    Awesome package! I love tulips. This is one is beautiful! Have a great day!

  7. Much!!!! Thanks!!! It is balanced now. 😀

  8. I like the top one better.

  9. I prefer the top photo because the bottom photo seems to crowd the sides a bit too much for my taste, however, I think Iona’s comment has some good merit too. Its not the inclusion of the stem that is bothersome, but the centering of the image with equal distance of space at the top and bottom. If the bulk of the bloom was in the bottom third (stem and all) and the top had more negative space I think it would be more balanced in my eyes.

  10. Such a pretty tulip. I wonder what color it will be? You’ve gotten lots of good discussion here and my reaction is that I need more stem and more breathing room on all sides. I also think I’d prefer that the petals all be in focus.

  11. They’re both beautiful Tammy … the discussion does a great job of demonstrating how different peoples’ eyes and tastes are, and the challenge a professional photographer faces when shooting something to try to sell.

  12. A beautiful photo with great details. I hate to be different, but I beilieve that I like the first picture better. I like the breathing room that it gives the flower.

  13. I favor the top one. I feel it puts the flower into context. The second one seems almost too close to comfort, and it makes the closer green petals (well, I guess they’re not petals…) seem a bit blown out.

  14. This is beautiful. I bet it’s going to be beautiful when it opens.

  15. Both are great. Must be a wonderful flower later ,might we have another look at it then 😉 Interesting to read the comments, I cannot choose a favourite butwould like some more space around the flower

  16. I also like the top image better, the flower has a bit more room to ‘breathe.’ I am not distracted at all by the stem, bring on the stem!

    More importantly, beautiful light here. Just gorgeous. Honestly sometimes just as important as the composition.

  17. What a pretty image! I like the top image better. The tulip need its stem to be complete. I agree that the lighting is wonderful. Very nicely done.

  18. What fabulous light on that bud,full of promise. I like the looser crop for the room it gives…

  19. Everything everyone already said about the technical merits of the image. What I really like it your gift for seeing things, Tammy! “Packaging” What a perfect and optimistic way of viewing this flower!

Leave a Reply

 
