44. Rocky Mountain National Park Road (HDR)

Ok, I’m playing a bit w/ Mike’s HDR tutorial…here is actually 3 pictures (-2,0,+2 exposure values) made into an HDR using Photomatix.  I then exported it to lightroom 2 to process it and then on to PSE8 for sharpening.  I took this picture last October while in Rocky Mountain National Park (I took a bunch of bracketed pictures but never had the time to play w/ photomatix).    I think this looks more realistic…but maybe the colors still need to be toned down a bit.  I hand took the images – and I probably should have had a tri pod w/ me (forgot it at home).  What do you think?Julie….here is the original you requested:

~ by Tammy on February 24, 2010.

21 Responses to “44. Rocky Mountain National Park Road (HDR)”

  1. It looks great to me, very real looking color and very much like being on that road. Well done! And how nice that Mike made a tut.

  2. Beautiful, depth of field and clarity to my eyes, and I see nothing garish in the colours anywhere! If you want my opinion I would want to blow them out a bit more, just a tad though as it looks as if you could step into it right now.

  3. I like the way the colors pop, the picture reminds me of the poem “The Road Less Traveled”.

  4. I like it just the way it is. If you have time, could you post the middle of the three exposures that went into the HDR?

  5. I came upon this site today that you’ll like:

    http://brianmatiash.com/blog/

  6. So lovely! Love those road photos!!

  7. Looks great to me as it is now. With the exception, I would have cropped the bottom beginning about where the brush and road meets with the left edge. I think it would have been more balanced that way. Colors are what one would expect in a scene such as this. Great light and composition.

  8. Awesome result Tammy. I really like the way it brought out the mountain in the background.

  9. I think it looks great. Make me miss riding in the rocky Mountain national Park!

  10. Wow, what a difference! I love the new version and it looks very natural and not over processed. There is so much more color and definition. I’ll be checking out that tutorial right away. Really nice work, Tammy.

  11. Tammy,
    Nice work, the sky and details are wonderful, my concern for this shot would be the lack of details in the evergreens on the top right side and the darkness of the face of the mountain. I love everything else. These would be 2 places I would work with. 1. Mask in the original to bring back details, or 2. Tone map it again and work with the settings to accentuate those areas only, then merge both versions in elements.Good luck and lets see version 2.

  12. This is great. My first thought when I compared the two pictures was “wow”, this is awesome. Then, as I read down through the comments, I kept going back to check the picture again. Some comments I agree with, some I think could go either way, but I love that I’m learning to look at these pictures more critically. Tammy, I’m very impressed with the results of this compared to the original that you posted. I think you’re getting the hang of it. 🙂

  13. Hi Tammy,
    Love this picture!! It looks like I could just jump right into the picture and be there. Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  14. I think this is a very believable HDR. The only thing I would do is get rid of that telltale halo above the horizon in the sky. You can easily burn that in with the adjustment brush in Lightroom, and then the image would be impeccable!

  15. Oh, and I also just found Brian Matiash. Aren’t his pictures incredible?

  16. This is a wonderful image. So peaceful yet lots to look at. Amazing depth and great color.

  17. I like the strong contrast and the way you’ve brought out a lot more detail.

  18. This looks great Tammy!! Thanks for posting the original. It helps to be able to see both images.

Leave a Reply

 
