41. Alone HDR Style

Here is a different shot I took of the same location of my Alone post.  Julie suggested I try it in HDR so I ran a single image through photomatix to see what I would get.  Now remember, I do not have this HDR stuff down quite yet and can’t get anywhere close to Mike’s results,  but….I tried….(Mike, if you are out there….help – what would you have done with this)??

~ by Tammy on February 20, 2010.

24 Responses to “41. Alone HDR Style”

  1. Ooooh! This is a knock out! I liked the original but this is amazing. You got such great detail back from outside. still no waiter though 🙂

  2. Great job! A lot of HDR stuff I don’t like, but you did a masterful job. That room lends itself very well to HDR. When I shoot at 18mm, I get a lot of distortion. You didn’t (unless you were able to adjust it).

  3. I like this a lot! So, now I have to ask, “what is HDR?”

  4. A delight into a masterpiece, perfect choice for HDR

  5. I think this makes a good HDR, but I might prefer a little bit of a lighter hand on the tonemapping – you’re getting some halos there.

    • I agree…I don’t know how to get rid of the halos…but I will figure it out LOL This program really has a higher learning curve than I expected…thanks for your comments!

  6. Since I really don’t know a thing about HDR, I figured this could use just a tad bit lighter touch. Jessica said it before me. Otherwise, (Mike will be astonished if/when he reads this) I like it. Mike and I had some conversations when he first started going HDR. I figured he was using too heavy a touch. He finally managed to hit his stride and most of the stuff he now produces is great. And yours will be also when you lighten up.

    I like this shot some better than the original shot. You’ve a different POV. And the two people alone in that large area only accents the theme. Great job. Keep up the good work.

  7. I really like what it does to the sculpture, very nice.

  8. This really turned out great Tammy!

  9. Hi Tammy,
    I like this one. It’s so much bigger and shows so much more. All the colors are just popping right off the page at you. Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  10. I’m late here and everyone else has already said it, I like it but it might look better with a lighter touch. You’ll have that program mastered in no time.

  11. Hi Tammy,

    My preference of late is for a more realistic HDR, but a lot of people like the stylized result better. Luckily, Photomatix gives us the flexibility to produce both styles. 😉

    In any case, the range in this scene may be one that calls for a true HDR, i.e. multiple exposures. Or, the way I do it when I don’t have the multiples is to create several virtual copies in Lightroom, then export to Photomatix. That way you can have better control over the exposures Photomatix uses to get the blended image to tone map. Way back when I was doing a lot of experimenting with HDR, I posted a couple of these in my EV gallery – here is one that I thought worked out well:

    http://www.elementsvillage.com/gallery/showimage.php?i=5083&catid=member&imageuser=8416

    • That did turn out wonderful..I need to watch some tutorials…I will try it again on the same pic and see what happens when I lighten the effect a bit.

  12. Hmm, everyone else says to use a lighter hand, but I really like the way it came out.

  13. Wow! This doesn’t have the hyper-real effect of Mike’s HDR shots; but it’s got a more graphic effect, rather like an etching. I think it’s stunning.

  14. Thanks for the accolades, I appreciate everyone’s compliments. Let me start by saying I like your efforts in this shot. After using this program for quite some time I am still amazed at the learning curve with this software, it took me quite a long time to get the results that are somewhat satisfying and I still have a long way to go.
    Tammy, can you give us some info on your processing of this shot? Is this shot in raw? BTW, this shot is perfect for HDR. What settings did you use? And can we see the original? Boy, If you would like to share this with me I would see what I could do and present a tutorial. I’m having trouble getting out and shooting myself so maybe I can help everyone with the process.
    One of the results of certain settings in photomatix is to even out the shadows , highlights and mid tones. It is our job to bring them back after photomatix does it’s thing. So I think your half way there!
    BTW, I love the colors of the ornaments hanging from the ceiling, that’s something that needs to be accentuated!

  15. Enjoyed reading my way through this thread. I think I like this one better than the original. It’s a real WOW!

  16. The HDR processing really works well in this picture. It is a wonderful image.

  17. Check out my HDR tutorial on my blog. http://www.mattafoto.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

 
