40. Alone

I was totally alone at the eatery at the art museum….again awful lighting not the best picture I ever took….but, look, another Chihuly sculpture!

Camera: Canon XSI, Shot in Manual mode, Lens:  18-55mm, Focal Length:  18mm, Aperture F/7,  Shutter Speed 1/200, ISO 400     Processed in PSE8:  Adjusted levels, cropped

~ by Tammy on February 20, 2010.

15 Responses to “40. Alone”

  1. Hi Tammy,
    That’s an awesome sculpture hanging there! Very colorful! Looks like a great place to have lunch. Have a great day!!

    Sherrie

  2. I would have been happy to join you if I’d known you needed a lunch companion! It looks like a wonderful space.

  3. What an awesome view. Love the colors and the scene of the room and deco there. This is another amazing sculpture too.

  4. What an awesome picture Tammy. It appears to me that there is someone in the picture sitting at the table on the far right, which makes them alone in the picture. LOL

  5. Looks mighty lonely, Tammy. Bright and colorful, though. I like the rich feeling, with the tiled walls and the flooring treatment. The Chihuly Sculpture brings the room down to size, keeping it from looking so tall and narrow. Don’t know if it is just me, but it looks your photo needs a tad bit of straightening.

  6. Oh, that’s gorgeous! The huge range between highlight and shadow makes this the perfect scene for HDR. You need to invite MIKE for lunch in exchange for an HDR tutorial!

  7. Amazing photo Tammy …. easily my fave of the recent Chihuly shots.

    While the backlighting is tough to shoot, you captured the colors very well and the image has great depth. It feels as though I could walk right into it, grab a seat and place my order. Assuming I could ever find a waiter. 😉

    Bill

  8. Bet you didn’t feel lonely for long once you saw the wine lisy, everything came back into focus. Admit it looks like a place that enjoys being full.

  9. I love the lighting! It adds drama and a uniqueness to the scene. Love that you captured all the beautiful but empty tables and chairs. Can’t believe you were all alone!!

  10. […] Alone HDR Style Here is a different shot I took of the same location of my Alone post.  Julie suggested I try it in HDR so I ran a single image through photomatix to see what I […]

  11. Commendable job getting that whole scene! Love that glass sculpture. Looks like a wonderful place to visit.

  12. Think I might prefer this to the HDR version, actually. And I kind of like the light, I think it’s interesting. Levels is probably not the best tool for a picture with so much dynamic range, I probably would have used curves to lighten the midtones and pretty much leave the highlights and shadows alone.

    In fact, if you shot this raw and you are feeling brave, I’d be happy to play around and re edit it. Send it to me by email if you’re interested.

  13. I really like this – it has great depth and I adore the rich colours – for me, I prefer this version to the HDR, although the HDR one has its own charms. This looks very welcoming and certainly tells a story.

  14. Such a beautiful image. amazing color and composition.

  15. I love Dale Chihuly’s work. This piece is beautiful!! I’ll have to try getting some of my art glass into some of my photos. My hubby was in the Glass Art business for a while and we knew lots of starving artists..so we bought quite a bit..just bought three new pieces the other day actually!!!
    Great photo getting all of the scene!

Leave a Reply

 
