37. Five

This week I went  to the Joselyn Art Museum to see Nebraska’s native Michael Forsberg’s Great Plains:  America’s Lingering Wild photography exhibit (which was excellent, by the way).  Naturally, I couldn’t take any pictures in the galleries, but I could in the common areas.  It has been a long time since I have visited this museum and had forgotten how beautiful the building was.

Camera: Canon XSI, Shot in Manual mode, Lens:  18-55mm, Focal Length:  36mm, Aperture F/4, Shutter Speed 1/25, ISO 400     Processed in PSE8:  Adjusted levels, cropped, topaz detail: black and white, topaz adjust:  portrait drama, another levels adj

~ by Tammy on February 18, 2010.

12 Responses to “37. Five”

  1. This is a great shot. I love B&W photography. Though I must admit I am curious what color the statues are. The arches are beautiful.

    • Statues are a black marble so you aren’t missing any color..that’s part of the reason I thought it would look good in a black and white.

  2. Nicely done Tammy. With the low shutter speed did you use a tripod??

    • No tripod Jens….I propped myself against a wall…it took a few (ok, well many) to get a clear shot) LOL

  3. I would like to see this in color. Lots of drama in this shot, but think color would showcase it better.

  4. Great counting Old girl, lucky you promised young Iona, colour or we would be at loggerheads too! Beautiful texture in the boring B&W

  5. The lighting is fantastic. B&W makes for drama.

  6. I REALLY like this one. The tones and textures are marvelous, and the lighting is perfect to set a mood.

  7. Hmm,my maiden name was Forsberg (my brother’s name is Peter :-), not the famous one though. Love this shot, so much feeling in it.

  8. This is perfect for the theme Tammy …. great, great find!! Because no one asked, I’ll chime in that I like the drama that the B&W imparts.

    Good eye!

    Bill

  9. I LOVE this one. The black and white conversion is great, the texture of the walls is wonderful, and the lighting is excellent.

Leave a Reply

 
