28. What is That? (Part 2)

Kudos out to Terri who correctly guessed what these images were – and Bill, you were SO close.  It is a clear bowl w/ water and oil in it (water and oil do not mix)…I then elevated the bowl and put none other than our latest Elements Magazine under it (love that colorful cover)!  Here is a picture of what it looked like…

I then stood on a chair and took pictures straight down at the water / oil mixture….I loved the abstract results it gave me (could have used this for geometric as well).  Here are a few others using different colors and objects in place of the magazine.  I edited all using PSE8 and on the first image I applied the fractalus filter and the second image I applied the topaz adjust – spicify filter.

~ by Tammy on February 7, 2010.

20 Responses to “28. What is That? (Part 2)”

  1. Great idea!

  2. Just awesome Tammy, will have to give that a try, looks soooo cool. great imagination!!

  3. Wooo Hooo got it right, wish that had been the PowerBall Lottery, LOL. Oh well. I would have never guessed that is how you did it though, I figured it was in a bottle or jar or something. Great job, love all the colors too.

  4. Tammy! At least I got the water and soap suds right!! lol Great idea and shots. Really outstanding!

  5. Nice going Tammy! I never would have thought of water and oil. You have a great imagination and/or have been trapped inside too long.

    • You are too funny, I was thinking that was was in too long when I was posting these (but I have to admit – I’m addicted, they are fun)!

  6. Ingenious! Love those photos – I’ve got to try this! The processing you did really added to the intrigue.

  7. Great thinking, Tammy! I’m going to have to try this little experiment with my 4-H photographers.

  8. Nice job of letting us in on the setup!! That PET cover is a great one for this, too! Great imagination at work, Tammy.

  9. Wow! How creative. What a great shot for the theme.

  10. What a great imagination you have! They are just wonderful, and all so different.

  11. Terrific idea! Isn’t it wonderful what we can come up with if we experiment? I love your post processing too. Thanks for the fun!

  12. What a great idea and beautiful images!

  13. Wow–tres cool!

  14. Very creative, I guess I better get my creative juices flowing because I would never have figured to do this. Nice Tammy

  15. These are so fun and really striking! As has been said what a wonderfully creative take.

  16. I don’t know why I missed this fun experiment when you originally posted the images. Glad I was browsing back through your blog. As others have said – very creative and the results are awesome!!

  17. You are so creative. What great pictures. Just amazing what water and oil can create.

Leave a Reply

 
