21. Arc

Today I went to the Cathedral flower and art show.  Wow, what beauty, I have never seen anything like this before.  It has been a long time since I have been in St Ceceila’s Cathedral  (one of the oldest Catholic churches in Omaha), and I forgot all about it’s ornate beauty.  The one thing I noticed when I got there,  arcs everywhere!   None of these are the best pictures I have ever took, it was low lighting and tons of people – I shot every one of these in AUTO & flash since I was being pushed through the show, but some editing helped (tons of the topaz adjust clarity filter)….

~ by Tammy on January 30, 2010.

19 Responses to “21. Arc”

  1. Tammy these are wonderful — so many arcs! It looks like it must be a beautiful church. Our flower shows don’t start for a while yet — mid Feb. Looking forward to them!

  2. Awesome capture Tammy. The lower left image has great lines leading you to the Altar, very nice!

    • I wish I could have gotten better images…mine does not even come close to doing this place justice…so many ornate details!

  3. My favourite is the bower with the decidious tree in the background, that exudes power.

  4. Very pretty! You sure found lots of arcs. And it must have been to look at flowers with snow on the ground outside.

  5. Tammy, these pictures are all great! So pretty! If you had to edit, you did a good job. 🙂 I’m surprised they allowed flash inside the church. More power to you-I think I would have been too shy for the photo op inside.

    • There were tons of people taking flash photography…thank goodness, I would have been sad to miss some of the displays – they were incredible! Just wish I could have got better pics!

  6. Tammy! I cannot imagine that I am agreeing with Ron twice in one day! 😀 But the lower right photo is my favorite as well. I do not know what it signifies, or stands for, but it reminds me of something that is ancient and primitive, long before the ornate decorations were ushered into being.

    Grand shots, colors, arcs, shapes, flowers, all that stuff! lol

    • I don’t know what it stands for either, but I thought it was cool! Hmmmmmm…I’m beginning to worry about you – agreeing w/ Ron?? What’s up with that? LOL

  7. I’m having so much fun seeing the posts that show multiple examples of a single theme – absolutely fun! And great examples of arcs they are too.

  8. Tammy, I went to a flower and art show at our local museum yesterday, too – and got almost the same “arc” photo as you!

    I just saw yours after I posted mine. Great minds… these flower and art shows are a nice break in midwinter.

  9. Beautiful photos. My favorite is the bottom right. Very unusual design for a piece of art.

  10. It looks like a lovely show and how nice to have an ‘outside’ photo project that was inside! Lovely shots.

  11. All beautiful Tammy! Considering the conditions you described you did an awesome job!

  12. Wonderful series Tammy, beautiful architecture in this church. I especially like the arch outside standing on its own.

  13. Just beautiful. They came out wonderful.

  14. A great series, and the show looks a treat. The outside shot is very cool.

Leave a Reply

 
