18. Another Snowy Scene (Mini Assignment – Rule of 3rds & Balancing)

I had to throw in another snow scene from last week!  I think this demonstrates the rule of thirds w/ the windmill off to the side of the image.  I am not so sure it is a “balanced” image since there is so much negative space on the left side of the image, but, I think I like it like this – what do you think?  Is this image balanced?

Camera: Canon XSI, Shot in Manual mode, Lens: 55-250mm, Focal length: 250mm,  Aperture F/11, Shutter Speed 1/250, ISO 400    Processed in PS8:  levels adjustment, topaz detail filter – black and white,  adjusted contrast, added a hint of texture, and cropped image.

~ by Tammy on January 26, 2010.

23 Responses to “18. Another Snowy Scene (Mini Assignment – Rule of 3rds & Balancing)”

  1. Tammy..I like the scene too! I think B&W is the perfect choice for this type of photo. Nice!

  2. Black and white is great, and I do think there is balance with that left side, its got the rhythm of those smaller trees in various shapes. I like it.

  3. There is more snow on the left, that offsets the negative space. The tree tops on the left also do the trick.

  4. Yes it is balanced but so bleakly monotone I am put off a tad. Asplash of colour to the left would balance it more, to me.

    • It is hard to put color in a scene w/out color LOL I tell you Ron, I have been living in a black and white world (when I go outside anyways)!

  5. When I look at this image, I see action…wind blowing from the left into the windmill and pushing against the bushes under it…so that is a balancing factor to me…

  6. I think the variation in the treatment you selected adds balance. Good choice! This is a perfect winter shot, a little moody, but there is movement so it’s also dynamic.

  7. Tammy! When living on the Texas farm as a child, we grew up with a windmill. I’d say, from the looks of that tail vane and the brush, there is a stiff wind blowing. The swift movement of the windmill adds tension of the photo. The snow and dark sky also adds tension. B&W is the only way you could have shot this one.

    I went to google for a description of exactly what could be considered in the rule of thirds. This is what I found. http://tinyurl.com/ylh723e

    Therefore, I can state unequivocally that your photo fits well within the bounds of the rule of thirds!! 😀 You did good! 😀

  8. I love this Tammy…I love the empty space to the left..I love how the trees are “behind” the curve of the land (on the line of thirds) and how the windmill is anchored by the shrubs below…it’s picture perfect if you ask me! 🙂

  9. Nice going Tammy! I think it fits. The bit of a hill in the foreground and the trees give it balance without taking away from the main subject. I know when the first flowers bloom, you’re going to be all over them! haha… Guess there are some positives (however few) of living in NJ. 🙂

    • I am waiting patiently for those flowers, but it won’t be til end of April beginning of May…that sounds like forever right now!

  10. I like it!

  11. Don’t know if this makes sense but I think the height of the windmill and the fall off of the land on the right gives the photo balance. You know I’m a fan of B+W as well.

  12. I’m not very well-balanced myself, so I’ll leave the analysis of balance to others. 😉

    But, I will say, I really do love this image. You did great!!!!

  13. This picture is the very essence of cold. Even sitting here with the woodstove behid me, I’m shivering looking at it. Perhaps it doesn’t have balance in the way described by the mini-lesson, but in this case, that’s a good thing–because the lack of balance gives us the sense of the wind blowing stiffly from the left to the right of the photo. The snow and the cold grey monotone speak winter; but it’s the subtle capture of the wind that makes this sink into one’s bones as COLD.

  14. I really like this image but I’m not sure on the balance. The left side looks a little open to me but then the windmill kind of balances it out. I love the tones.

  15. I’m a bit off balance too, I like the composing. It is so darn starkly cold looking as Bobbie said.

  16. In my mind the balance is coming from the weight of the dark shrubs on the left, counterbalancing the visual weight of the windmill. The only think I might do is crop in just a touch from the left (eliminating the partial shrub) and just a bit up from the bottom too, maybe a half inch or less. I’m not sure that’s necessary but that’s what came to mind. I do really like the image and B&W treatment.

  17. Tammy, great example and B/W conversion. It really works great on a snow/ high contrast scene. Some times a particular scene has nothing in a particular area to give a sense of balence. What I do then is walk around from a different angle to see if that helps. But this is very nice. I feel the wind, cold and capture the scene visually while looking at it. That’s what a good image is supposed to do.

  18. I love the processing on this one, Tammy. B/w works so well here and the windmill is well-spotted on the frame. Great job.

  19. I think it’s well balances and a great b&w one with interesting scenery

  20. Oh WOW! That one would look just perfect in a frame! I think the b&w is perfect here and I think it’s balanced. Lovely!

Leave a Reply

 
