15. Playground in my Mind (Mini Assignment#1 – framing)

I went out playing w/ the lensbaby again and tried to use some of the composition rules from the mini assignment.  I loved the way the trees framed this playground and lent itself to the dreamy scene.  I post processed this first in PSE8 by adjusting levels, then went over to Lightroom 2 and used a preset from PresetHeaven-The Wedding -soft and dreamy….I thought it enhanced the dreamlike quality.

Camera: Canon XSI, Shot in Manual mode, Lens:  Lensbaby Compsoer,  Aperture F/5.6, Shutter Speed 1/500, ISO 100

Just for you Ron, the original…


~ by Tammy on January 23, 2010.

25 Responses to “15. Playground in my Mind (Mini Assignment#1 – framing)”

  1. I guess it is just my lack of understanding of the Lensbaby Tammy but going on Julies last Posting with it, I think its effect would have been enough as you got the clarity right on the mark, the processing could have been overkill, I would like to see the shot pre “Heaven – The Wedding preset” Please – I know you hate me for this but I am trying to learn from what you do as well as what I do!
    Shy Retiring Ron!

    • I did it just for you my shy friend (ROFL)….I posted the original. Which do you like better?

      • Seeing as how you ask – The Original. It must be a Girl Vs Guy thing, perception wise, as I in no way criticized the firsty post, but the original seems dreamy enough without added processing. I don’t think I will buy a lensbaby, it isn’t me but Julies shot I mentioned showed the image in a good light, as did your original, I don;t think the presret was needed, how do you improve perfection, I will leave the answer to the philosophers.

        Even Great thinkers take perfection too far ie. Rene DesCarte:
        Cogito Ergo Sum – I think therefore I am was no where as good as his first draft,

        Cogito Ergo Sum – Cogito!

  2. Oh, Tammy, I love this! You and I must be on the same wave length, twisted as it may be. I’ve been out of the photography loop for months now and I regret I haven’t kept up with Pierre’s offerings. I’ll have to hop over to Preset Heaven now to snag “The Wedding”.

    • I like several of the settings in that group, but you have to have the right picture for it to look right! Since the look on this is already twisted (as you put it- like that by the way) I thought a little more twisted was good LOL

  3. Since I love this too does that make me twisted as well? Looks like you and the LensBaby are getting along fine.

  4. I’m just beginning to learn about lightroom (after a failed attempt earlier this year, I got Adobe’s classroom in a book and like it). Haven’t worked my way around to presets yet, but I like the result in this photo.

    • I am still learning lightroom too, and am loving what I have played w/ so far! Well worth the cost!

      • Kelby Training online has a couple of super tutorials on Lightroom that take you step by step through several short lessons – well worth signing up, even if it’s just for a one-month session.

  5. Nice job with the Lensbaby Tammy. For my money I prefer the edited shot … the colors pop a little more against the snowy backdrop. I’ve heard people say that if/when they get into a creative slump with their cameras they pop the Lensbaby on for awhile. I’m learning that it’s very hard to not feel creative just thinking about shots with that lens. Nice job.

    Bill

  6. I have to say I prefer the edited effect…the brighter colours lend itself to the scene of a children’s playground I think.

    I am not sure I actually “get” the attraaction of the Lensbaby…the court is still out on it here in Canada. LOL

  7. Ohhhhhhhhhhh…I just went on the site…there is a fish eye lens baby…now we are talkin’!!!!
    http://lensbaby.ca/gallery-photo.php

  8. Great shot and PP, Tammy. I, too prefer the the one you processed. Love the colors of the playset and the dreamy effect. Good job on framing it with the trees & kudos for going out in the cold. 🙂

    • thanks Elenor (and congrats on your IOW)! It doesn’t look like it, but it was actually warm – got up to almost 50 degrees yesterday…a real heat wave! 🙂

  9. Hi Tammy,
    Great shot! Love the blur you put on this. Makes it look kind of dreamy. Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  10. I like the processed version too – add me to the twisted group.

  11. I think the top shot frames the playset in several ways: with the branches, with the blurred focus around it, and with the neurtal colors as oppesed to the primaries of the subject.

  12. Yes, a very dreamy quality, I want to slide thought. I must have been deprived of enough slides as a child, cause I sure have this desire to slide on them all. Great job with the lensbaby, I am wanting one more and more.

  13. The trees really frame the playground! I like the dreamy effect you’ve given the photo.

  14. You got your Lensbaby, good stuff!

    Nice example of framing with the trees, it can make such a difference with your images; I need the reminder to use it more.

  15. This is just beautiful. Brings me back to memories of my childhood!

Leave a Reply

 
