14. Masculine

This boy and his frog is usually standing next to a pond….but as you can see the snow got the best of him!  I bet he is wishing he was wearing a shirt at least (he must be cold, look at that ice climbing up his leg)!    This really caught my eye,  the bright snow background really made this statue stand out.

Camera: Canon XSI, Shot in Aperture Priority mode, Lens: 55-250mm, Focal length: 194mm,  Aperture F/11, Shutter Speed 1/160, ISO 400    Processed in PS8:  levels adjustment

~ by Tammy on January 21, 2010.

25 Responses to “14. Masculine”

  1. Great Catch Tammy — looks like he wants to go swimming in the snow!

  2. I have been struggling with this category. I found the perfect answer during a photo walk — a foot high bronze statue of a cowboy on a horse. Since I’m currently on a kick reading Zane Grey novels, I fell in love with the statute. Only problem is, the booth owner wouldn’t let me take a picture. I’ve been planning on going back and offering to give her $5 bucks to take the picture! The statue is selling for $1800, so buying it is out of the question. Now, you come up with statute for the masculine category! Is it worth pondering what this says about this category? (Sheila, I still think you have captured this category well with pic of Ed in his Scottish garb!)

  3. Beautifully captured, Tam! This is really quite an arresting shot. It makes you think, it makes you smile. I bet this photo shows it off better than any photo of it in the spring or summer. Great composition!

  4. Now that is Jack but I would try blowing the blue hue right out to give him a little boy blue look to, just a suggestion!

  5. Just the statue not the snow sorry!

  6. Tammy, this is a striking image. The simplicity and contrast here is quite compelling. Absolutely love this!

  7. It almost looks like this photo was taken in a light box! Shooting dark objects against bright white snow can be really challenging. Nicely done.

  8. He must be a football fan to be able to hang in those conditions, LOL Great image Tammy.

  9. Tammy! What a find! Great shot. Fits the theme. Think I’d want to put a sweater on him, or something. If this were my photo, I would crop it a bit tighter. Nice contrasts. The reflection off the snow does not interfere with the photo. He had a grand artist therefore, you shot was bound to be a hit!

  10. Luv that Tammy, the sculptor should get a look at your image. He might consider some clothes for the winter for him, LOL.

  11. Fun photo! And nice contrast of that summer bronze against the winter snow.

  12. Great one! I like the contrast and simplicity. I hope he doesn’t have to stand out in the snow much longer!

  13. I like this – how you think it is a statue against a white background until you look down to notice the snow around his legs. I also like how you put him in the lower third of the photo…very nice

  14. Stand otside any middle school, and you’ll see boys dressed in not much more out in the snow proving they’re macho! It’s a sweet statue; snapping it knww deep in snow adds humor.

  15. I like the quiet gentleness of this shot, and the contrast of the summer image in the cold snow.

  16. This is a great shot. Maybe he is bring you good thoughts of an early spring?

  17. Wonderful contrast in both color and subject (summer boy in winter snow).

    I’m curious about your ISO of 400. I always thought of higher ISO settings for dark, indoor settings. Bright snow seems like it would use a lower setting?

    • I tried several different shots and when I used a lower ISO the snow blew the shot out, it was almost pure white…I am trying to learn what the ISO does to the pic so I have been playing w/ it quite a bit and the higher lower ISO’s don’t seem to like the bright snow…

  18. Mmm very cold!

  19. Poor boy! He must be freezing…

  20. Great shot and just this one time the snow is perfect here!!

  21. Theme aside, this is just a great shot, Tammy!

  22. Brrr,I know it is a statue but I feel for the boy 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
