12. Looking Down

Julie, BillZ  and LisaB all made me jealous with their lensbaby lens that I had to go out and buy one (and yes guys,  I told my husband it was all their faults)!  🙂    I was sick over the weekend and didn’t get to play with it, so yesterday I finally got it out and took a few pics.  Wish I could go outside but it is pouring rain (or rather ice)!   The boys were downstairs playing foosball and I thought lesnbaby…LOL    Anyhow, here is my first attempt…suggestions?

Camera: Canon XSI, Shot in Manual mode, Lens:  Lensbaby Compsoer,  Aperture F/5.6, Shutter Speed 1/20, ISO 800
Processed using PSE8, cropped, levels adj & upped saturation a bit

~ by Tammy on January 20, 2010.

21 Responses to “12. Looking Down”

  1. This is so funny, because the first attempts I made with my Lensbaby were of James’s table hockey game. You did well in getting the focus on the player who’s about to kick the ball and the blur on the others works well. My only nitpicking is that I know that ball is going to move DOWN to the left and out of the frame and I usually like to see things moving UP and out of the frame. Weird, huh?

    • Too funny! Good point about the direction, to be honest I was not thinking of composition (shame on me) – I was just trying to get some kinds of focus…that is harder than you think, there is definitely a learning curve!

  2. Great job with your new lens!! Julie’s comment is too funny!!

  3. You got the focus spot on the Ball with your New Lens Baby (hee hee) the tolerance of your children is oh so commendable – Let’s go downstairs and get away from Mum and her camera for a while – Ah shoot, here she is again! LOL

  4. Great shot! I’m jealous of all you DSLR folks with your Lensbabies. They look like so much fun.

  5. I am thinking I have to have one of those. I like the blur on the left, it really gives the sense of motion. Cool for the first try.

  6. So Cool — and I’m so jealous!

  7. Looks like a perfect site for experimentation. There’s a great sense of movement here.

  8. You did get a sweet spot and that’s great. You people are going to make me want a lensbaby.

  9. Good on you for getting one! A wonderful intro shot to it. How the heck does Julie know which way the ball is going?

  10. I hope you didn’t interrupt the play too much 😉
    Look forward to seeing more 🙂

  11. Hi Tammy,
    I have no idea what at a Lensbaby is but I like the shot. The blur adds some motion to the picture. Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  12. Nicely done! I’m still trying to figure out if I like this lensbaby thing or not, but I like the effect in this photo. Great job creating the sense of motion in a static image.

  13. Great start with the lensbaby – I like how it adds the sense of motion.

  14. He shoots…he scores! I am chuckling at Julie’s comment. I would have guessed the ball would have headed straight out the left side of the frame…(buh bye…) and was praising you for getting the ball and kicker in focus on that new lens. Woo hoo!

Leave a Reply

 
