10. Pattern

Last week I went to the opening of “The Secret Garden” flower show at the Lauritzen Gardens!  It was wonderful seeing all the springtime colors…a reminder this snow won’t be with us forever.  I fell in love the subtle pattern in this tulip’s petals-the soft colors just drew me in (after living in a world of white for what seems like eternity)!  I hope you enjoy this glimpse into Spring…

Camera: Canon XSI, Shot in Aperture Priority mode, Lens: 55-250mm, Focal length: 250mm,  Aperture F/5.6, Shutter Speed 1/125, ISO 400
Processed using PSE8, levels adj, upped saturation a bit, dodging and burning (thanks to Doris- after seeing what a difference it makes in your images)!

~ by Tammy on January 17, 2010.

20 Responses to “10. Pattern”

  1. Very captivating. Love the contrast between the flower and background. Although you have peeked my interest as to what the deep rich color in the background is from??

    • The background is of more tulips…I love the hints of pink in the background, I think it makes the yellow stand out that much more…

  2. The lighting (whether as a result of photography or processing) is really stunning on this one, Tammy. The inner flower just seems to glow. It’s gorgeous!

    • The lighting is natural (maybe a bit enhanced by burning and dodging)…that is what originally drew me to this flower – the way the light hit it.

  3. Beautiful color in this shot. I love how you can see the pollen on the petals. The soft purple/pink background is the perfect compliment to the yellow.

  4. OMG…this is stunning Tammy…the light is amazing. Really lovely!!!

  5. Beautiful Tammy, and we all def need a pinch of spring. Great colors too, nice and refreshing.

  6. Great bloomers dearie, what provided the light, was it the afterburners on your broom perhaps?

    • Part of the lighting was my magical spells the other part came from the sky lights overhead, just got lucky!

  7. Wow. Beautiful. I love the focus on this. We haven’t had your cold or snow, but I am ready for Spring and this is a nice sample!

  8. Seeing this photo just makes me happy to know Spring can’t be far away. I actually have daffodils peeking through the flowerbeds. That glow in the blossom is just beautiful…

  9. Nice macro view..beautiful colors and focus…well done!

  10. This is lovely. And darkening the background, or distracting elements, really does help make a photo pop. I think the focal point is perfect also.

  11. Pretty colours 🙂
    Have fun with your lensbaby 🙂

  12. Great!

  13. always nice with fresh tulips on the table as I often have this time of the year as a reminder of spring
    great striped shot with wonderful color 🙂

  14. This is beautiful. I love the composition. And the pink in the background brings out just a hint of pink in the yellow pedals. Looking at this makes me long for spring….

  15. I’m so happy to see flowers again and a gorgeous one at that!! Doris’ advice enhanced this beautifully.

  16. Perfect light and exposure. The water beads are fabulous.

  17. I can see why you were drawn to the light – it’s beautiful.

Leave a Reply

 
