6. Bold

I think this is a BOLD reminder that it isn’t swimsuit season anymore….I also thought those bold summertime colors stood out against all that bright white snow!  Notice all that sand in the parking lot- compliments from Ron’s beach…   🙂

Camera: Canon XSI, Lens: 55-250mm, Focal length: 109mm, Shot in Aperture Priority mode, Aperture F/11, Shutter Speed 1/800, ISO 200
Processed using PSE8, levels adj, Topaz Adjust – mild details tweaked to my liking (on a copy layer – lowered opacity to 75%),

~ by Tammy on January 11, 2010.

21 Responses to “6. Bold”

  1. That was very BOLD of you, you silica scrounger, but oh so wonderful a photo for the theme.

  2. Great contrast in this photo. A great oomposition tectnique. Gosh, it looks cold there. We’re going to warm up some this week.

  3. Haha! If you squint the dolphin looks just like he’s jumping out of a frothy wave! It’s a great photo, Tammy. I love the incongruity of the scene…

  4. Really nice image Tammy! Great capture.

  5. Upon re-entry that poor dolphin is going to be in for a surprise.

  6. This is great. Really get that middle-of-winter-waiting-for-summer-to-come-back feeling, which is a nostalgic for me now living in the SW Arizona! I love the bold summer colors contrasted against the winter whites. One technical question… what is “Topaz Adjust?”

    • Topaz is a series of filters that you can buy and use w/ Photo shop elements…Topaz adjust can be found here: http://www.topazlabs.com/adjust/
      It basically sharpens the picture in different degrees depedning on which setting you use…

      I am a topaz junkie, I own adjust, simplify, detail, clean, & remask….I love their products!

  7. When the photo first scrolled up, I thought it was a beach scene or something from a water park. When I realized it was a snow bank, I laughed out loud. It’s a great shot–this is the kind of photo that used to be on the last lage of LIFE magazine in its prime–something with a twist that made you look twice and then laugh

  8. I sure wish I could find some colour to put against all the snow – this is great!

    I think you have more snow than we do up here in Northern Canada, wow!

    • We have probably a total of about 2 ft….BUT….it is finally warming up – a high tomorrow of 36 degrees so some of this snow should start disappearing in our heatwave LOL

  9. Have to echo – these strong summer colors and the cold snow are a fun combo.

  10. This is so fun Tammy, a fabulous juxtaposition. The sand is especially perfect. Great composing.

  11. Love the dolphin leaping up out of the snow. Fun!!

  12. Great colors against the white snow. Does Ron really know the sand is probably from the salt trucks!!

  13. Love this — I’m not sure I want to be at a pool at this time of the year, but the colors are just great!

  14. I thought this was for real, too…until I scrolled down. Your Topaz upped the colors here and made them really stand out.

  15. Great colors here, the composition is textbook rule of thirds. Nice job.

  16. Fun image….great colours!

  17. Tammy! Juxtapositions between the bold colors of summer and white of winter really makes one shiver and lean on the promise of spring when this too shall pass. (Hah! Can’t even use $10 words without someone before me having used them!! lol I have a habit of writing my comments before reading others.)

    Dontcha you know you can’t snitch or even borrow Ron’s sand without paying the price. 😀

    Great shot and theme fit.

Leave a Reply

 
